My license is expired! How do I renew it?

Unless your license is expired more than 1 year, you can simply come in and renew it. There is no penalty on an expired license, but keep in mind there is no grace period. Once your license is expired, it is not valid for driving.

If your license is more than 1 year, but less than 5 years expired, you’ll need to pass a knowledge exam before renewing.

If your Minnesota license is more than 5 years expired, you’ll need to pass a knowledge AND skills exam before renewing.

We are now able to offer the Class D Knowledge Exam at our location!  Please click HERE for more information.

Show All Answers

1. Can I renew and/or replace my Driver's License here?
2. What's the deal with REAL ID and Enhanced Driver's Licenses and IDs??
3. Can I apply for my very first Instruction Permit at your location?
4. Can I take an exam at your location?
5. Do you have driver's manuals?
6. Can I reinstate my driver's license at your location?
7. Do you take disability applications and renewal cards at your office?
8. Can I complete a Commercial Driver License (CDL) medical self-certification form at your office?
9. How can I reach the state about additional Driver's License questions?
10. My child is under 18. Do they need an ID to travel?
11. I'm a brand new resident or returning to Minnesota. How do I get a driver's license or ID?
12. Can I renew, replace, or upgrade my license online?
13. My license is expired! How do I renew it?
14. Will I have to take a photo with my license or ID?
15. I already have a REAL or Enhanced license or ID, what do I need to bring in to renew it?
16. My name has changed, how do I update it on my license or ID?
17. I lost my Social Security card, how do I get a new one?
18. Can I get a birth certificate at your location?
19. Where can I get a certified marriage certificate?