Parks, Recreation & Environmental Commission

This Commission advises the City Council on the proper use of and care for parks and the natural environment and advises on policies covering recreational activities of the city. Issues relating to the New Brighton Community Center also come under the duties of this commission.

The commission meets at 6:30 pm on the first Wednesday of the month. All PREC meetings are open to the public and are streamed live on the City website. Meeting materials and video recordings of meetings are available for download free of charge. The following citizens serve on the Parks, Recreation, and Environmental Commission:

  • Chair Julia O'Rourke (term ends March 31, 2024)
  • Vice-Chair Michael Spooner (term ends March 31, 2024)
  • Pauline Alfors (term ends March 31, 2026)
  • Gary Bank (term ends March 31, 2026)
  • Maren Hawkins (term ends March 31, 2025)
  • Kristin Hicks (term ends March 31, 2026)
  • Abe McEathron (term ends March 31, 2025)
  • Becky Slabiak (term ends March 31, 2024)
  • Laura Sokol-Kraft (term ends March 31, 2024)
  • Zoey Tenenbaum (term expires March 31, 2023)